Reference Books
Unless otherwise indicated, these sources are shelved in the reference area on the main floor of the Class of 1945 Library.
-
Chronology of American Musical Theater – 3 vols.Call Number: R 782.81 N8873 c
-
Encyclopedia of Popular Music (10 vols.)Call Number: R 780.42 E563, 2006
-
Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre – 3 vols.Call Number: R 782.81 G2118 e, 2001
-
Facts on File Dictionary of MusicCall Number: R 780.3 A5183 f, 2004
-
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music – 10 vols.Call Number: 780.9 G2333 – folio/floor 3
-
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Rock History – 6 vols.Call Number: R 784.54 G8166
-
Harvard Dictionary of MusicCall Number: R 780.3 H339, 2003
-
Icons of Rock - 2 vols.Call Number: R 784.54 S3363 i, 2008
-
Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century – 5 vols.Call Number: R 780.922 M9876
-
New Grove Dictionary of Jazz – 3 vols.Call Number: 785.42 N5324, 2002
-
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians – 29 vols.Call Number: R 780.3 N5327, 2001
-
Oxford History of Western Music – 6 vols.Call Number: R 780.9 T1964 o
-
Penguin Guide to Jazz RecordingsCall Number: R 789.913 P3985, 2009
-
Penguin Guide to Recorded Classical MusicCall Number: R 789.913 P3983, 2008
-
Women and Music in America Since 1900: An Encyclopedia – 2 vols.Call Number: R 780.88 W8724
-
Word-by-Word Translations of Songs and Arias, vol. 1 (German and French)Call Number: R 781.96 C675 w (2nd copy shelved in Music Library)
-
Word-by-Word Translations of Songs and Arias, vol. 2 (Italian)Call Number: R 781.96 C675 w (2nd copy shelved in Music Library)
-
The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Music and Culture
Call Number: R 306.484203 S1294
Subject Guide
Melinda Dolan
she/hers
Reference Research Tips
Begin your research by using either the print reference collection on the main floor of the Library or one of the reference databases. A reference source will give you a broad overview of your subject. Use the table of contents or index to find articles with information on your topic. Also, see if the article has a bibliography, which can give you some great leads to other sources.
Online Reference Sources
-
Britannica Online - Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
-
Internet Broadway DatabaseDatabase of shows produced on Broadway, including all "title page" information about each production, historical information about theatres and various statistics and fun facts related to Broadway.
-
OnMusic DictionaryComprehensive dictionary of musical terms, including browsable information on instruments, composers and musical symbols.
-
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
Comprehensive encyclopedia of traditional and contemporary popular music cultures, organized by geographic region. -
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop. Text also includes entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and festivals.
