LibGuides: HIS200 The World in the 20th Century (Famous Person Project): Reference Sources

Reference Books

American National Biography
Call Number: 920 A512
Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Call Number: R 920.056 B6153

ISBN: 1414418906
Current Biography
Call Number: 920 C976
Great Events from History: 20th Century
Call Number: R 909.82 G7865
Great Lives From History: The 20th Century
Call Number: R 920.00904 G7864, 2008
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Call Number: 920 D5539, 2004

Online Reference Sources

American National Biography
Portraits of more than 17,000 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.

Portraits of more than 17,000 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
Current Biography Illustrated
History Database Center

Includes biographies, subject entries, chronologies, primary sources, maps and charts, and images for American History, World History, American Women's History, African American History and Culture, American Indian History and Culture, and Ancient History and Culture.
Issues & Controversies in History

Builds a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped our nation by exploring the key players and the battles they fought.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Over 57,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Updated three times a year.

Over 57,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Updated three times a year.
Salem History

Includes the complete content of Milestone Documents, The Decades (an American history series), Great Lives from History (worldwide coverage), and Great Events from History (worldwide coverage).

Reference Research Tips

Begin your research by using either the print reference collection on the main floor of the Library or one of the reference databases. A reference source will give you a broad overview of your subject. Use the table of contents or index to find articles with information on your topic. Also, see if the article has a bibliography, which can give you some great leads to other sources.